top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAgape Home

Avida's Testimony: 2018

VOL 38, ISSUE 4. December, 2018

My name is Avida Sateri. I am 41 years old and from

the Washington, D.C. area. I grew up in a dysfunctional

home. My dad used drugs all my life but was able to

keep it under control for a very long time. About 15

years ago, he lost control and lost everything we had.

About that time my own addiction went to a new level.

During that time I had a baby, got married and somehow

managed to get my bachelor’s degree. This was the only

time I have ever made my family proud which was short

lived. I had many good jobs but was never able to keep

them. Losing everything and starting over became a

repetitive cycle throughout my addiction. I had a run

with pretty much every drug you can think of. My life

was a mess. My days revolved around drugs and no one

and nothing could stop me.

My mom caught me with a needle in my arm one day

and sent me to live in Costa Rica with my dad. She

believed if I went somewhere that I didn’t know anyone

I would get better. The truth was, I only got worse. I

experienced the most devastating and awful things you

could imagine. I ended up living that nightmare for

about 2 years before returning to the United States.

Little did I know that my life was finally going to

forever change. Upon returning to the states, I

continued in my addiction for about 6 months until I got

arrested. Jail is what saved my life. I wasn’t a stranger

to loosing things, only this time I had now lost my

freedom and family too. I had finally hit rock bottom

with no one to turn to. It was then that I found Jesus and

my life changed. I decided to commit to a yearlong

program at Agape Home. My desire to use has gone

away and been replaced with a desire to live. After I

completed the year I decided to stay for servant leader

training and since then have become staff.

Today I receive my strength and comfort from God. He

has restored all my relationships and is restoring

everything I lost. I am so grateful for my new life and a

second chance to be a good mother, daughter and sister.

“And Jesus said to him, “If you can! All things are

possible to him who believes.” Mark 9:23

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Jessica's Testimony: 2022

VOL 49, ISSUE 1. MARCH 2022 Hi! My name is Jessica. I am currently in the Agape Home program. I just want to thank God for loving on me and showing me that He is alive! When I was six I was molested m

Judy's Testimony: 2021

VOL 48, ISSUE 4. December 2021 Hello, my name is Judy Andrews. I am on staff at Agape Home. I read a book by Henry Blackaby. In it he said, “We must look around and see what God is doing and join in.”

Jennifer's Testimony: 2020

VOL 44, ISSUE 4. DECEMBER 2020 My name is Jennifer. I’m 30 years old. I have a 1 year old little girl. My addiction to marijuana started when I was 18 years old. I gave into the peer pressure of fitti

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page