top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAgape Home

Marita's Testimony: 2017

VOL 34, ISSUE 4. DECEMBER 2017.

Hi, my name is Marita. I’m 29 years old. Growing up,

drugs were never a part of my life – I was an honor student

and a varsity athlete. I came to Florida in 2006 for college

with high hopes for my future. Sadly, a knee injury ended

my competitive running career, and my identity was lost. I

started partying and experimenting with drugs. I was

instantly hooked. What started out as fun, soon became a

full blown addiction. I was young, reckless and thought I

was invincible. In 2009, I was arrested for a DUI that quite

possibly saved my life. I managed to get off of opiates, and

calm my life down. I worked, and made a second attempt at

school, but partying always took center stage.

In 2013, I had my daughter, Emma Rose. I thought my love

for her would keep me clean and on the right path. She

became my identity. I poured all that I had into her, leaving

nothing for myself. Again, I relapsed, and soon I was using

heroin and crack. After Emma’s second birthday, I went to

a secular rehab. I remained clean for three days after

leaving that facility.

In the beginning of 2016, I was arrested on four felony

charges. DCF got involved. Not wanting to lose Emma, I

agreed to treatment. After I completed my case plan as a

model client, I again began using. I lost everything, except

Emma, this time around. I did things I didn’t think I was

capable of to get high.

One night I cried out to God and through divine intervention

I entered Agape Home one week later. These past nine

months have been an amazing journey. I am so thankful

that my relapses landed me here. The hole in my soul I tried

filling for years with many vices has now been filled by

God. I have a relationship with Jesus that I never knew was

possible. He has healed me from my past hurts. I have

finally found my true identity. I know I am completely

forgiven and deeply loved. Physically, He has healed my

body of hepatitis C. Through the power of prayer, I have

been acquitted of all legal charges. God is good!

The Lord has given me hope for my future. I am finally the

mom Emma deserves. I have been restored with my family

– having earned back their support and respect. I have plans

to return to school. God has given me the ability to dream

again. I never understood why my love for Emma couldn’t

keep me clean. Now I know that only God - His love and

grace, as well as my relationship with Him is what will keep

me clean. My journey is just beginning. I am so thankful I

am not walking it alone. Because of God, I am not who I

once was. I am finally the person He created me to be.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Jessica's Testimony: 2022

VOL 49, ISSUE 1. MARCH 2022 Hi! My name is Jessica. I am currently in the Agape Home program. I just want to thank God for loving on me and showing me that He is alive! When I was six I was molested m

Judy's Testimony: 2021

VOL 48, ISSUE 4. December 2021 Hello, my name is Judy Andrews. I am on staff at Agape Home. I read a book by Henry Blackaby. In it he said, “We must look around and see what God is doing and join in.”

Jennifer's Testimony: 2020

VOL 44, ISSUE 4. DECEMBER 2020 My name is Jennifer. I’m 30 years old. I have a 1 year old little girl. My addiction to marijuana started when I was 18 years old. I gave into the peer pressure of fitti

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page